Goatwhorelta uusi albumi lokakuussa: ensimmäinen single ”Born of Satan’s Flesh” kuunneltavissa

Kirjoittanut Arto Mäenpää - 28.7.2022

Louisianalainen äärimetalliyhtye Goatwhore on julkaisemassa seuraavan, ”Angels Hung from the Arches of Heaven” -nimisen albuminsa lokakuun 7. päivä Metal Blade Recordsin kautta. Yhtye kertoo tulevan albumin lyriikoista sekä teemoista seuraavaa:

”Lyrically, Falgoust draws from a wide array of influences. ‘Death From Above‘ is loosely based on the ‘Nachthexen,’ or Night Witches, a group of female Soviet aviators in a bomber division deployed in 1942, a period during which women were in fact barred from combat.

Then there’s the multifaceted title track, on which Falgoust ventured into an idea of emotional despondency within older texts and writings, feeling like several of these writings missed an element of human nature/emotion.

The title of the record – like all of the band’s releases – is both deep and direct. ‘It’s a basis of human despondency, the arc of life, and its relationship with the personal abyss of overwhelming emotion and thought,’ elaborates Falgoust. ‘It’s a mixture of esoteric ideas and biblical scripts and the journey to the places some people care not to venture on mental paths… The rise and fall of the self and how the abyss can be a turning point for some and a passageway to oblivion for others. It’s blunt and to the point, just like countless aspects of life.’”

Voit katsoa albumilta ensimmäisenä singlenä julkaistun ”Born of Satan’s Flesh” -kappaleen videon tästä:

”Angels Hung from the Arches of Heaven” -albumin kappalelista puolestaan näyttää seuraavalta:

  1. Invocation 3
  2. Born of Satan’s Flesh
  3. The Bestowal of Abomination
  4. Angels Hung from the Arches of Heaven
  5. Death from Above
  6. Ruinous Liturgy
  7. Victory Is the Lightning of Destruction
  8. Voracious Blood Fixation
  9. The Devil’s Warlords
  10. Weight of a Soulless Heart
  11. Nihil
  12. And I Was Delivered from the Wound of Perdition

Goatwhore 2022:
Louis B. Falgoust II – vocals
Sammy Duet – guitars, vocals
Zack Simmons – drums
Robert ”TA” Coleman – bass