Gorodilta uusi musiikkivideo ”Aertha”-albumilta tuttuun kappaleeseen ”Bekhten’s Curse”

Kirjoittanut Arto Mäenpää - 20.10.2018

Ranskalainen Gorod on julkaissut uuden musiikkivideon ”Aertha”-albumilta tuttuun ”Bekhten’s Curse” –kappaleeseen. Kyseinen albumi julkaistiin eilen Overpowered Recordsin kautta. Albumi kirjoitettiin vain kuudessa viikossa, ja yhtye halusi ensisijaisesti keskittyä nauhoituksissa siihen, miltä kappaleet kuulostaisivat ja näyttäisivät live-tilanteessa.

Solisti Julien Deyres kertoo seuraavasti:

”Out of all of the songs on the album, these lyrics required the most research. I am not at all a specialist in Egyptian antiquity, but in doing my research on lunar deities, I discovered this extraordinary story about a so-called miraculous healing of Ramesses II’s sister-in-law. This legend is engraved on a stela that is currently in the Louvre Museum and is a proven historical fake. In this song, I am playing the role of a Bekhten’s city survivor, which was completely destroyed to restore a form of eventual reality… because way too often, popular legends such as this one were created to hide misdeeds by those who have the power and wish to be considered as heroes.”

Yhtye kuvailee uuden albumin vievän kuulijan uuteen traagiseen ja melankoliseen universumiin – täysin uudelle pimeyden tasolle unohtamatta kuitenkaan yhtyeen tavaramerkiksi muodostuneita kitarariffejä, korvamatoja sekä mieletöntä groovea.

Deyres kuvailee ”Aerthaa” seuraavasti:

”The moon: a star, an allegory, a universal symbol that concerns all peoples and eras… this is the central theme of the lyrical concept of this album which is divided into ten texts that follow a form of parity in terms of genres: four titles are devoted to female lunar deities, four to male deities. The remaining two are respectively dealing with the universal symbolism of the owl and the star itself. The concept is basically a study of different cults associated with the moon through the ages and peoples. Some themes are treated in a purely narrative way, some others in a more philosophical or poetic way, but generally it remains a personal reading of each myth, which aims to awaken critical thought as much as evasion.”

Albumin kappalelista, uusi musiikkivideo sekä kansikuva nähtävissä alla:

1. Wolfsmond
2. Bekhten’s Curse
3. Aethra
4. The Sentry
5. Hina
6. And The Moon Turned Black
7. Chandra And The Maiden
8. Goddess Of Dirt
9. Inexorable
10. A Light Unseen