Katatonia kokoaa yhteen harvinaisuuksia levyjensä b-puolilta: ”Mnemosynean“-kokoelma ilmestyy lokakuussa

Kirjoittanut Satu Haiko - 16.7.2021
Katatonia, Kaisaniemi, Helsinki

Katatonia valmistelee parhaillaan julkaistavaksi uutta kokoelmaa ”Mnemosynean“, joka sisältää harvinaisuuksia ja aarteita yhtyeen levyjen b-puolilta. Peaceville Records julkaisee kokoelman 1. lokakuuta ja sen voit tilata ennakkoon täältä sekä täältä.

Bändi tiedottaa asiasta seuraavasti:

‘This new release marks 30 years since the formation of the band; ’Mnemosynean’ contains an extensive collection of all of Katatonia’s rarities and B-sides, including tracks from our numerous EPs, unused album songs, limited special edition bonuses, cover songs, as well as a series of collaborative remixes.

The intriguing title of ‘Mnemosynean’ itself represents memories & was selected because tomb inscriptions dating back to 400 BCE say that the dead could keep their memories by avoiding drinking from the Lethe, and drink instead from the stream flowing from the lake of Mnemosyne (the goddess of memory).

The Mnemosynean packaging includes a new band biography courtesy of music journalist Eleanor Goodman, as well as full lyrics plus backgrounds to the track origins described by founding members Anders Nyström andJonas Renkse, along with other close Katatonia collaborators. The artwork for this release has been created by long-running Katatonia visual artist Travis Smith.’


“Mnemosynean”-kokoelman kappalelista:

Levy 1:
01 – “Vakaren”
02 – “Sistere”
03 – “Wide Awake In Quietus”
04 – “Night Comes Down”
05 – “Second”
06 – “The Act Of Darkening”
07 – Ashen”
08 – “Sold Heart”
09 – “Displaced”
10 – “Dissolving Bonds”
11 – “Unfurl”
12 – “Code Against The Code”

Levy 2:
01 – “Wait Outside”
02 – “Sulfur”
03 – “March 4”
04 – “O How I Enjoy The Light”
05 – “Help Me Disappear”
06 – “Fractured”
07 – “No Devotion”
08 – “Quiet World”
09 – “Scarlet Heavens”
10 – “In The White (Urban Dub)”
11 – “My Twin (Opium Dub Version)”
12 – “Soil`s Song (Krister Linder 2012 remix)”
13 – “Day And Then The Shade (Frank Default remix)”
14 – “Idle Blood (Linje 14)”
15 – “Hypnone (Frank Default Hypnocadence mix)“